workout wednesday

I’ve been particularly awesome about some of my new year’s resolutions. Namely, the ones having to do with flossing (I was so tired of my scary Russian dentist scolding me and my sister’s boyfriend is studying dentistry so I feel pressure) and being on top of school work (although let’s be honest, I’m a total nerd so this wasn’t really a huge surprise) but… I’ve been a bit slow to start blogging. I’ve been creating my routine what with the new city, new apartment, new people, new school, and new classes! It’s been quite a scary but exciting time so far. I do miss San Diego but being back in Northern California has certainly been a nice change of pace. And it forces me to wear things other than yoga shorts and sports bras hehe.

I love establishing a routine. I thrive on routine. And I love knowing what works for me. This is why sometimes, I enjoy the week day more than the unstructured weekend. I love the sense of getting shit done and having that hour before you go to bed to just drink in the relaxation. And that’s why I’ve decided to start structuring my blog and finally doing it. I want to add another ball to my juggling act. I don’t know why I put it off for so long. I’ve been looking at other blogs, seeing what I think works and what doesn’t. I spent too much time planning. And for what? I won’t know what will work for me until I just sit down and do it. So here goes, my dears. How about a Workout Wednesday to kick things off?

Biceps and Chest

  • barbell curls
    • 2 x 10 narrow grip
    • 2 x 10 shoulder width grip
    • 2 x 10 wide grip
  • bicep curls
    • 4 x 9
  • cross body curl
    • 4 x 9
  • hammer curl
    • 4 x 9
  • reverse grip barbell curl
    • 3 x 10
  • bench press
    • 4 x 12, 10, 8, 6
  • chest press
    • 4 x 12, 10, 8, 6
  • pushups
    • 4 x max

I absolutely love training my biceps. They are my babies. Chest? Eh, not so much. But since I pair them with my favorite body part to train, it becomes infinitely better. Aren’t compromises a beautiful thing?

Poor roommates, I’ve been obsessed with lifting to this song ever since Jamie Eason (#girlcrush) posted it on Facebook. Even though it’s technically 50 songs, I’m sure me putting it on repeat for the entirety of my workout is just fabulous. Sorry dudes…

Refueled after with my absolute favorite post-workout meal. BANANA PROTEIN PANCAKES! About half of a big frozen banana. Microwave banana for 30 seconds, add 1 scoop of protein powder a tiny bit of egg whites to get a good consistency. Pour onto a lightly oiled pan (I use a tiny bit of coconut oil mmmm) on low heat. Flip when you see bubbles! I topped it with some berries to add some moisture and cinnamon.

Now I’m going to go bury my head in flashcards for my chem quiz tonight. Four hours of chem class. Joyous.

 

Leave a Reply

